Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Spicy Butternut Squash

on April 28, 2011

Today was a special kind of win.  Not only did we make multiple win recipes (I shalt post later), but I was also able to get my husband to eat, AND enjoy butternut squash.   He even said, “I’d definitely eat this again!”  That’s a 10 star comment coming from my husband, and the very words I cook for.

This wouldn’t be quite so exciting if you didn’t know that this was, perhaps, the 5th or 6th time I’ve tried to get him to enjoy butternut squash.  AND, on top of that, a butternut squash hating coworker claims that it was good (though it may just be a polite compliment, so I’m not holding him to that one.)

I got this recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen, one of my favorite cooking blogs.  She, in turn, got it from Food.com.   Please be sure to visit Kalyn’s Blog to see much prettier pictures than mine.

Anywho, hope you enjoy the recipe as much as my husband and I did.  There’s none left!

1 butternut squash cut into 1 inch cubes
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion salt
1 tsp fresh ground black pepper
2 tsp balsamic vinegar
2 T extra-virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and get to peeling!

After peeling the squash, cut said fruit into 1 inch cubes.   Toss with other ingredients.   Spread onto a non-stick aluminum foil lined baking sheet.  (I love this stuff for things that are likely to stick)

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Remove from oven and turn the peices.

Bake for another 10-15 minutes.

Turn again.

The remaining cooking time will be in 5 minute increments.  The squash should be tender, and nicely browned doesn’t hurt either!

Mine took a total of 45 minutes.

 

More recipes to come, but not tonight!


2 responses to “Spicy Butternut Squash

  1. So glad you enjoyed the recipe!

  2. One of my girls is obsessed with butternut squash soup,can’t wait until they start appearing at the Farmers’ Markets so I can make some more. It tastes so good when it is roasted. Adding smoked paprika sounds so good.

Share your thoughts