Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

What are you cooking up for your [vegan] St Patty’s day?

on March 2, 2012

I’ve got a few things up my sleeves, but I’m interested to hear what everyone else has planned.

Clearly corned beef and cabbage are not on the menu, but I do have some “meaty” things on the experiment menu that I’ll be trying soon.

What are your favorite culinary regions?

6 responses to “What are you cooking up for your [vegan] St Patty’s day?

  1. grainorshine says:

    I really really really enjoy boxty, which I had after a friend visited Dublin, and then was able to sample myself when I was there about 6 months later. It’s a potato pancake stuffed or topped with your filling of choice. At the time I was crazy about this chicken with cream sauce spiked with vermouth. Now, maybe tofu chicken or just some hearty veggies? Definitely going to play around with the options for this one.

  2. Izzy says:

    I’ve been tossing around the idea of boxty, it sounds really good! Never had it, but I do so love potatoes…..

  3. Kinenchen says:

    We’re probably making shepherd’s pie with garlicky potatoes on top and lots of peas, carrots, parsnips and portobello “beef” tips. I can’t wait to see your boxty! They were the only gluten-free breakfast thing in Dublin that I wanted to bring home.

  4. Messy Jessie says:

    I am planning on making a simple, hearty Irish stew using potatoes, cabbage, carrots, tomato paste, and Guinness! Sometimes I’ll add “beef” cubes for my fiance, but finding good faux beef is hard! Cooked all day in the crock pot, it is the perfect things to come home to after a long, chilly day:)

Share your thoughts

