Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Holy Cow! Vegan

on April 24, 2011

I just posted the recipe for Whole Wheat Vegan Pancakes the other day, but I wanted to feature them again because I tested them on my picky father-in-law today.

I found the original recipe at Holy Cow! Vegan (Check her out!), and wanted to give my review on them, and give her more credit, because these turned out to be not only a hubby-win, but also a in-law win, which is worth a quadrupal win, in my book.

We had my in-laws over for Easter brunch today.  Hubby made them biscuits and gravy, but since I’m vegan and I aim to spread awareness and tasty vegan recipes – I decided to make Vaishali’s whole wheat pancakes, along with homemade blueberry “syrup” (really just heated frozen blueberries).

The first reaction to the pancakes, was a look of disgust from my father-in-law.  My mother-in-law, on the other hand, is great about trying new things, so she eagerly tried them and scarfed down two of them.  Finally, after a bit of teasing, the father-in-law figure decided to try one. 

I didn’t really expect him to like them and was pleasantly surprised when the words, “Oh.  This isn’t bad! I could eat these every day.”  He then proceeded to talk my mother-in-law into making these for him every single day. 

Coming from the man that loves to complain, this was a HUGE compliment.  

Way to go, Vaishali!

One response to “Holy Cow! Vegan

  1. Vaishali says:

    Izzy, you and your in-laws made my day! 🙂 So glad you tried these, and thank you for your lovely review.

Share your thoughts

