Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Pesto and White Bean Pasta – Meal Idea

on March 12, 2012

I do not have a pesto recipe, I actually happened upon a jar of vegan pesto that was on clearance at my local mega-mart for $1.29 (originally $8.99), so I snatched it up.   I actually held on to it for a while, because I couldn’t quite figure out what to do with it.  I can’t just eat a plate of pasta without some sort of protein.  Finally I found a recipe for white beans in pesto, so I figured we’d give it a shot.  It was a winner.  Unfortunately my pesto to pasta ratio was a little low because I didn’t listen to my husbands suggestion, so I would suggest 10 ounces of pasta to a 6 ounce jar of pesto.

Did I mention my awesometastic husband made this? ❤  And it was both husband and toddler approved.

Pesto with White Bean and sun dried tomatoes

Most pesto’s contain cheese, so be sure to read the ingredients!

While the pasta is cooking (or rather the water for the pasta is heating)…

In a warmed non-stick frying pan drizzle a small amount of the oil from a jar of oil-packed sun dried tomatoes (optional, you can use olive oil of course).
When the oil is shimmering, add
1 medium onion, minced

Whilst the onion is cooking, slice about
1/2 cup sundried tomatoes and add to the pan 

Sautee until onions are translucent.  Add:
3-5 minced garlic cloves
1 bag fresh baby spinach
1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed 

Stir spinach in the pan briefly, then cover until wilted – about a minute or two.

When the spinach is wilted, and pasta is drained, mix them all together along with ze jar of pesto.

Enjoy.


8 responses to “Pesto and White Bean Pasta – Meal Idea

  1. Ahhh, so jealous of the vegan pesto you found!! I have pesto woes, I’ve tried making it from scratch twice and failed both times. I miss pesto pasta, it’s so good with tomatoes. 🙂

    • Izzy says:

      I picked up some pine nuts to try making some from scratch but I’m very nervous about it. This was my first time ever actually cooking with pesto, and probably my 3rd time ever having it, so I think it’ll be easier for me since I don’t have an idea in mind about it.

  2. Sam says:

    Husband did not make this he followed your instructions. That is not the same as whipping up a dish from scratch like you do so 😛

  3. Looks delicious Izzy!

  4. kylaskitchen says:

    Hey, I just wanted to share my recipe for Vegan Pesto. It’s really easy and SUPER TASTY. http://kylaskitchen.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/pesto/

  5. Shumaila says:

    Have never had vegan pesto, but would want to grab a jar. Sounds like a healthy and tasty dish!

Share your thoughts