Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

MEAL IDEA: Taco Black Beans and Rice

on April 21, 2012

Meal Ideas are a general idea of things to put together to make a meal, without having to worry about following an exact recipe.  I’m doing a series of these to help myself on the days when I simply don’t know what to make or have a limited number of items on hand.

Before you read, be sure to submit your entries for the Light Saber Chopstick GIVEAWAY, celebrating my 1 year Veganniversary.

Since I learned how to make Izzy Proof Brown Rice, I have been using it a lot.  I made big batches of it, and froze portions for ease of use.  I love it, it makes my life a heck of a lot easier!  I froze them into about 2 serving portion sizes, which fit perfectly into a sandwich baggy.

Sautee onions, bell peppers and garlic until soft.  Throw in some jalapenos too if they’re you’re kinda thing.

Stir in some cooked rice, a can or two of black beans (drained), a packet of taco seasoning* and a can of diced tomatoes.

Season with salt, pepper and other spices to taste (smoked paprika, not-chicken bullion, etc)

Cook until all liquid is absorbed.

Nom.

Eat this as is, on a bed of lettuce, or wrapped up in a warm tortilla with vegan sour cream, salsa and lettuce and fresh tomatoes for a yummy burrito.

* If you don’t have a packet of taco seasoning on hand or prefer not to use it, use some  spices like Chili Powder, Cumin, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Cayenne Pepper, Paprika, etc.

2 responses to “MEAL IDEA: Taco Black Beans and Rice

  1. foodashion says:

    I nominated you for the 7×7 Link Award because I love your Blog & want you to know.
    Tasha http://foodashion.com/

Share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

