Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Creole Black-Eyed Peas

on July 26, 2012

I actually made this months and months ago, but I couldn’t find it in myself to post.  But I promised myself that this week I would post a new recipe if it killed me, and now that I’m doing it I have a very good feeling it will indeed, not kill me.

Since I was taking care of our foster son at the time, you can imagine that one of the big reasons I loved this recipe from FatFreeVegan is because of course, it’s easy as pie.  She uses a slow cooker to cook the black-eyed peas, but I don’t have one of those, and won’t until after we move in a couple of years.

For the purpose of this recipe, however, I used canned black-eyed peas, which I suspect do not have the same kind of lovely flavor as dried ones do.  So if you feel so inclined to cooking your own, please do so.  In the meantime, have at this:

In a frying pan or soup pan, saute
1-2 ribs celery, sliced
1 green and 1 red bell pepper (red is optional but tasty and pretty), roughly chopped
1 large onion, diced*

When the vegetables start to get slightly tender, briefly saute
3-5 cloves garlic, minced

Then add
2 cans black-eyed peas, drained
1 can petite diced tomatoes, with liquid
1 tsp dried oregano’

And to taste, add about:
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 Tbsp hot sauce
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp kosher salt

Simmer the mixture for about 15 or so minutes, then add
1/2 tsp Liquid Smoke
and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

Serve with rice.

* It always amuses me when recipes call for 1 large onion, or 2 small onions, or half a large onion… why not a small one?   In any event use the equivalent to approximately one large onion.  However you wanna do it.

 

 

 


4 responses to “Creole Black-Eyed Peas

  1. misscilicia says:

    Great recipe. I hope that you and your husband are finding some peace. My heart goes out to you.

  2. Lili says:

    I’m glad you have made a brave return to blogging after the separation from your foster son. I won’t even try and pretend I understand what you went through, but know that even as just a stranger following your blog, I thought of your family and tried to send good thoughts your way.

    I’ve been following your blog almost since its inception and I just love your posts. You are genuinely funny and your recipes are approachable.

    I hope to see more of you in the blogosphere soon 🙂

  3. Kinenchen says:

    Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  4. ironamma says:

    That looks delicious. Try this out and tell me what you think – Dill, Kale, & Chard Sabji Recipe: http://wp.me/p1jwFi-cV

Share your thoughts