Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Lemon Garlic Oven Roasted Asparagus

on March 21, 2012

I can’t be the only vegan/vegetarian/person on the planet that can happily shovel away a plate full of NOTHING but vegetables and walk away happy.

*crickets chirping*

Really? Nobody?  Chime in if you’re with me.

Well, that’s just what I had for dinner tonight.  I had a big ol’ plate of asparagus that was perfectly (honestly, no matter how it was cooked, if it wasn’t canned I’d probably adore it) cooked asparagus.

It helped that I picked up a couple bunches for $.99 each!

 

I’d never cooked asparagus before this batch, but I did recall that you need to chop the woody ends off.

 

 

Then I broke out my handy dandy roll of non-stick foil.

Drizzle the asparagus very lightly with oil and sprinkle it with garlic and salt and roll it around.

 

 

Roast at 400 degrees for about 8-10 minutes, or until desired tenderness.  Splash with some lemon and eat a whole plate full of it for dinner. 🙂

 

 

8 responses to “Lemon Garlic Oven Roasted Asparagus

  1. Messy Jessie says:

    I’m with you! I love veggies (especially roasted asparagus) and when I cook just for me, I usually make a veggie only dish. My fiance is a little harder to please, so I have to add something heartier, such as beans or baked tofu.

  2. YUMMMMM!! I like to grill asparagus on the BBQ too, with some lemon juice, sea salt and cracked pepper. A fabulous dinner! 🙂

  3. the RA Vegan says:

    I can definitely eat a whole plate of asparagus and be happy. Especially if it’s grilled. Yum.

  4. krhtoday says:

    Um. Yes. 🙂 Im with Messy Jessy – I’d eat a plate of roasted veggies EVERY night if my fiance would let me serve it. Asparagus are good with a little truffle oil (luxurious I know!) drizzled on top when you’re roasting too 🙂 Yummmmm.

  5. Love roasted asparagus…must try the lemon garlic touch:)

  6. jonoandjules says:

    Hi Izzy
    just popped on as you found and commented on our blog and am now embarrassed as we suggested some non-vege tapenade ideas. How about adding it a s a topping for pasta – works really well.
    We love roasting asparagus too and this looks fab and the freshness of the lemon gives it a real zing!

    • Izzy says:

      HA! Don’t be! Not your job to know the dietary choices of everyone on the internet. 😉 Pasta is where I’ve been leaning, so it might be where I go with it. 🙂

Share your thoughts

