Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Caramelized Onion and Mushroom [vegan] and Garlic Pizza

on March 4, 2012

My husband has declared this as “probably the best pizza I’ve ever made,” which is pretty gosh darned high praise considering how much pizza I make.     After making the Mujadara, I wanted more caramelized onions.    I also had some leftover sauce, so I decided why not!?

The ingredients are pretty obvious.  I caramelized some onions, sauteed some mushrooms in garlic and topped a Daiya drenched crust with it.    Was muy yum.


6 responses to “Caramelized Onion and Mushroom [vegan] and Garlic Pizza

  1. Connie Fletcher says:

    OMG that looks wonderful!!!!! Guess I know what’s on the agenda for today………..thanks!!

  2. Fantastic! That looks delicious!!

  3. I love homemade pizza! In the summer we do our son the grill (all veggie), in the winter we cook them on a pizza stone in the oven (kale and vegan Field Roast sausage).

  4. I adore caramelized onions! This looks like such a delicious combo.

  5. Carolyn says:

    Caramelized onions on pizza? Awesome idea!

  6. emmycooks says:

    I love the idea of using a ton of caramelized onions to contribute some of the richness and creaminess you’d get from cheese in a traditional pizza. I often use caramelized onions on pizza, but next time I’ll try using way more (and less or no cheese…at least on half). 🙂

Share your thoughts