Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Veganomicon Dish

on February 27, 2012

Lentils and Rice

 

While I won’t be posting HER recipe on the inter-webs, you can find lots of versions of it around.   It is also known as Mujadara, a Lebanese dish.  I’ll be making this again but with tons of onions.  It was absolutely the key to this dish.

 

Lentils, Rice and Caramelized Onions

9 responses to “Veganomicon Dish

  1. elle says:

    haha creative photos, that’s really neat =P
    looks like some nice rice, too!

  2. toxicvegan says:

    Wow that looks delicious!!

  3. Messy Jessie says:

    Caramelized onions are one of my favorite things! I can’t STAND raw onion, but as soon as you caramelize it… Mmmmmmm. I have this book (and I haven’t made ONE thing from it!!), and now I’m going to have to try this recipe.

  4. pumpkinhoney says:

    Mjadra!! I’m so excited you made this! Coming from a Lebanese family and being the only vegan I make mjadra pretty often. You’re right, the onions make the dish. It’s also nice paired with Tabbouleh for some brightness & fresh flavor. Your caramelized onions look so good. I know it’s supposed to be practically the vegan bible, but I haven’t brought myself to buy Veganomicon yet. Should I just go for it?

    • Izzy says:

      To be perfectly honest, I’m pretty gosh darned torn on it. So far the recipes have been hit or miss. I’d really suggest trying some of the recipes from her website before you dive in if you haven’t tried Isa’s recipes. For example, her chickpea cutlets are a huge hit for every non-vegetarian I make them for (on the website), and her snobby joe’s and bean balls were a complete and utter failure for all involved. Sometimes she really complicates things, in my opinion, and sometimes she doesn’t do enough. But I guess it’s just a taste preference.

      I’m starting to wonder if certain things you just can’t enjoy until you’ve been vegan for a while. But, I cook for an omnivore, so I don’t have a choice. I make a few things for just me, but most of it’s for both of us so I try to cook for the omnivore pallet, with the exception of nutritional yeast which he always says, “this would taste better with more noosh.”

      You’re right, I think Tabbouleh would be perfect with this. Something I’ve not made yet, but looooove. Also, I’d love to hear your version of the lentil and rice thing that seems to have a thousand different spellings!

  5. catlj88 says:

    Love the photography – it’s very creative! And my GOD that sounds like my sort of dish *puts on to-cook list*

Share your thoughts

