Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Tomato Cucumber Salad

on March 1, 2012

Did you know you shouldn’t refridgerate tomatoes?

If you do have to, for whatever reason, be sure to allow them to return to room temperature prior to serving.

This is one of those recipes that isn’t about the number of ingredients, but rather the quality.  This is for those fresh flavorful tomatoes that you can’t imagine cooking or slicing into a burger because they’re so fantastic.

Also, I’ve really got to work on my chalkboard handwriting.  It reminds me of 5th grade me.

In a serving bowl add

1lb fresh, room temperature tomatoes (any will do, but a smaller variety or cherry is ideal)
1/2 medium red onion, cut in half then sliced thinly
1 small to medium cucumber, cut in half lengthwise and sliced thinly
2 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
drizzle olive oil
salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Toss to combine.

You could also add a pinch of sugar, if you like that sorta thing.  I like it tangy.  (thats what she said)

Let this marinade while you cook dinner.  Or, do what my husband and I did and eat the entire recipe WHILE making dinner.  Surprisingly, even the toddler liked this.

Toddler, omnivore husband and Izzy approved.

4 responses to “Tomato Cucumber Salad

  1. Yum! Looks so fresh and delish.

    This is the second blog I’ve read today that told me not to refrigerate tomatoes. I had NO idea. Stupid me!

  2. grainorshine says:

    I love love love your chalk board tray…maybe going to steal that one 🙂

    • Izzy says:

      Thanks, I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on it, but it still needs a bit of work. The one thing I love the most is how it makes everything pop. My handwriting sucks on it, that needs a lot of work too!

Share your thoughts

