Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Thai Curry – Again!

on February 23, 2012

Yep.  I’m addicted.  Just wish my husband was.  🙂  This is a super easy, super simple recipe.

Thai Curry

In a non-stick fry pan, dry fry
1 lb cubed, drained and pressed (or vacuum packed) tofu.

In a  mixing bowl make a cornstarch slurry using a little bit of water (about 1/4 cup)  and some chicken flavored bullion (I use Better than Bullion No Chicken Base).

To the slurry, add
1 can light coconut milk
3 Tbsp Red Curry Paste (I used Taste of Thai)
1 squirt Sriracha sauce
3-5 Tbsp Soy Sauce
a pinch or two of kosher salt

When the tofu cubes have more sides dry and crispy than not, add
about 2-3 cups fresh broccoli florets
a healthy handful of sugar snap peas
1-2 green onions, sliced
1 red bell pepper, sliced
any other veggies you’d like 

Simmer everything together until veggies are desired tenderness.  If they aren’t cooking quickly enough for you, cover the pan with aluminum foil or a lid if your fry pan has one.

Serve over rice and top with
fresh lime wedges and cilantro

OR

Lime and Thai Basil

Oh, and do not freaking skip the basil or cilantro or basil.

I mean it!

Original recipe found at My Everest.   Baby liked this, hubby liked it but wasn’t thrilled by it.  I did not find this to pack well for lunches.  Eat it fresh!

4 responses to “Thai Curry – Again!

  1. I actually really like it packed for lunch! I find that when it sits overnight, the curry is even more aromatic and yummy. But, it definitely solidifies more over night (thanks to the cornstarch, I’m sure) so I can see how that might be offputting. I like a thick sauce though so I power through it. 🙂 Glad you’ve found a way to make it your own and continue to enjoy it! I’m actually making it this again tonight myself 🙂

    • Izzy says:

      Haha, yeah I have a tendency to um… make something to death if I fall in love with it. My husband will be pleased when I’m past this phase. Now if I can just master pad thai…… 😀

  2. Katie Rose says:

    I like how you suggested thai basil as an alternative for those crazy cilantro haters. 😉 Izzy, have you tried the pad thai recipe in Vegan with a Vengeance? (Wow, this is the second time I’ve referenced this cookbook on your page in five minutes, I need to branch out!) I really like that pad thai recipe.

Share your thoughts

