Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Dijon Braised Brussels Sprouts

on February 21, 2012

Me: Well?  What do you think?
Hubby: They would be great, if you could get rid of that aftertaste.
Me: The aftertaste of what?
Hubby: Brussels Sprouts

Dijon Braised Brussels Sprouts

I’m averaging two vegetable recipes a week lately, so I’m going to have to start spreading them out.  But I really wanted to share this one because it was especially tasty.

Clearly this recipe isn’t for everything.  My husband just CAN’T stand Brussels sprouts.  But that won’t keep me from trying another recipe.  I was able to get him to like them at one point, braised in butter and broth and topped with shallots and bacon.  Clearly, I’m not making those again – but it gives me hope that there might be a way I could make these for him that he would like.

Oh uh, the baby didn’t approve either.   Guess I’ll be making these for myself.  Oh, and as for that – when I tasted them I almost abandoned the rest of my meal (read sandwich, cause I can’t try two recipes and juggle a toddler) in favor of this bowl of sprouts.

Again, one of my rules for cooking everyday vegetable recipes is that I must typically have most of the ingredients on hand.  Originally this called for 1/2 dry white wine.  But looking back, I think this could have used a splash of white vinegar in addition to the vinegar in the mustard.

Trim and halve 1 lb Brussels sprouts

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat.  When hot, add a drizzle of olive oil and swirl around until oil is shimmering.

When the oil is shimmering, add the ze Brussels sprouts – arranging them so the cut side is turned down.  Let them cook until the cut side is golden brown to dark brown, depending on how you like your sprouts.

Meanwhile, thinly slice half a medium red onion. When the sprouts are browned, add
onions (just throw them on top)
3/4 cup chicken-flavored broth (I use Better Than Bullion)
a pinch of salt or to taste

Stir them all up and cover with a lid or aluminum foil and cook until tender, about 15 minutes or so.  If you are particular about the tenderness of your sprouts, check after about 10 minutes and every 5 minutes until desired tenderness.  They should be easy to stab with a fork.

When they’re done, remove the sprouts with a slotted spoon and place in a bowl.

To the liquid still in the (still heated) skillet, whisk in
1-2 Tbsp dijon mustard
1 tsp Earth Balance (or more, if you desire)
freshly ground pepper

The sauce will thicken shortly as the liquid evaporates, there wont be much of it you just need enough to coat the sprouts.  If for some reason your liquid is thin and you have a bunch of it, feel free to add a tiny bit of a cornstarch slurry to it.

Pour pan sauce over the sprouts and serve.

3 responses to “Dijon Braised Brussels Sprouts

  1. I love brussels sprouts and this looks like an excellent way to prepare them. Nice post! Stop by and say hi 🙂

  2. This LOOKS good and I am going to try this in an attempt to LIKE brussels sprouts, damnit! I get the impression my bf will be much like your hubby…but at least I can try! I haven’t completely written them off yet. Maybe I just need to google all the health benefits and get myself psyched up–it worked for the kombucha I drank last night! 😉

Share your thoughts

