Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

I have a confession

on February 20, 2012

I burn EVERYTHING.

Ok, sometimes it’s my fault, but mostly it’s the oven in our rental.  It’s the 3rd one we’ve had, and we don’t have it in us to try to get it fixed, because every time we’ve tried to get something that works, we end up with something that works LESS than the previous one.  We have a total slumlord.

Burned Brussels Sprouts

 

Have you noticed that I make mostly soups, stews and stove top things?  I don’t bake or roast for a reason.  Well, I don’t bake mostly cause I don’t particularly care for sweets (yes, I’m weird, I get this), but I try not to stick anything in my oven unless I absolutely have to.   And I just absolutely had to have these balsamic roasted Brussels sprouts.  Lot of good THAT did me.

Our oven doesn’t have a thermostat, or something, so rather than it keeping the oven temperature at whatever you set it at, it just skyrockets to over 600 unless I play this game of ‘turn the oven off and on every 5 minutes’ kinda thing.  It’s very sad.  Feel sorry for me.  🙂

 

11 responses to “I have a confession

  1. mythineats says:

    Honestly sometimes I like slightly burnt brussels sprouts….sometimes it just tastes extra delicious.

    • Izzy says:

      I realized after I posted it, that they do kind of look edible, but looks are deceiving in this instance. They were still hard as a rock, and just burned. Not caramelized, like I like.

  2. Those aren’t burnt at all! They look delicious and I love my roasted brussels sprouts to have crispy edges…sprinkle a little salt on it and you’ve got brussels sprout “fries”. yum.

  3. *sigh* I wish I liked brussels sprouts. I’ve only had them once–the time I cooked them recently–and the texture was awful to me. Slightly crispy outside, mushy inside. Blech. 😦 Maybe they’ll grow on me… anyway, totally hear ya on shitty rental kitchen pieces. My oven is from the 60s I’m pretty sure. My stove burners don’t light all the way around (which is probably a fire hazard of some kind). Woe! Let’s feel sorry for each other 🙂

    • Izzy says:

      I’m trying to like them, myself. I used to love them as a kid, then we kinda had a falling out and we’ve been trying to make-up ever since, with little to no luck. I have a recipe coming up that I did mannage to enjoy a bit though. There are a lot of veggies I’m trying to love. I’m not giving up!

  4. Tiffany says:

    That is a sad story! Especially the part about you not liking sweets! I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t bake. 😮

    • Izzy says:

      Ha! I get a taste for them every now and then, but the oven situation is particularly sad especially when one of my favorite bloggers posts stuff like strawberry shortcake cookies…………………………………………………………………………

  5. Pixie says:

    Roasting Brussel sprouts is the ONLY way I’ve ever gotten most of my family – and myself – to admit to liking them. I have one son who loved them just boiled with a little vegan “butter” on them, but he adores them roasted. I toss some olive oil, salt, and onion powder on them and pop them in the oven.

    It really stinks that your oven has such issues. How about just getting the thermostat replaced? That should cost less than another oven. Maybe your landlord would allow for that? Or maybe it would be worth it to foot the bill yourself just to have an oven. I can’t IMAGINE not being able to bake things. I love roasted things and cookies just too much! lol

    • Izzy says:

      We’ve considered replacing it. I think we’re so about done with this rental house though that we don’t have the energy for it anymore. Thankfully I’m not much of a baker, but I do a lot of roasting that I’m missing.

Share your thoughts

