Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Eat Mo’ Vegetables!

on February 19, 2012

This new years, I had just one goal – eat more fruits and vegetables.

In fact, the goal was somewhere in the neighborhood of 10 servings of fruits and vegetables a day, so about 3 servings of fruit and 7 servings of vegetables.  At first it was daunting, and when I eat mostly raw – it really is!  Eating cooked carrots is a lot easier than chomping on raw ones! 

I really need to add a set number of raw vegetables as well, but there are so very few raw vegetables that I like that I have a hard time with this one..

Anyway, most days I manage to reach that goal.  It’s a lot more challenging than it might seem!   So, to further motivate me, I decided to make one new vegetable recipe per week (at least).  After all, this IS a vegan blog, you would think there would be more vegetable recipes on it!

Florida Seasonal Produce

I really want to eat locally as much as possible.  Sadly, Florida doesn’t pack a whole heck of a lot of variety, but it doesn’t mean I can’t still eat in season as much as possible – even if some of it has to take a road trip.  In order to do this, I’m really going to have to reach out of my comfort zone a little bit. 
 
So this month, in season in Florida are:
 
Avocados, Cabbage, Carambola (wtf is that?), Carrots, Cauliflower, Celery, Chinese Cabbage, Cucumbers, Eggplant, Grapefruit, Green Beans, Green Peppers, Oranges, Radishes, Squash, Strawberries, Corn, Tangerines, Tomatoes.   
 
In general in the US: Asian Greens, Asparagus, Avocados, Beets, Bok Choy, Broccoli, Brussels Sprouts, Cabbage, Cardoons (again, wtf?), Carrots, Cauliflower, Celery, Chard, Collards, Cucumbers, Dandelion / Chicory, Endive, Fennel, Gourds, Kale, Leeks, Parsnips, Rhubarb, Salsify (eh?), Sunchokes, Turnips. 
 
Phew!  Something tells me I won’t get to all of those, but there are a few that I’ve never made, and some I don’t make enough, so this year I want to try to tackle vegetables from all walks of life, even the gross ones!  I’ve gotta get out of my vegetable rut.
 
As a side note – as a result of my new eating habits, after just one month my entire office got sick – every single last person.  My foster baby was sick.  Last year at this time of year I’d been sick 4-5 times already.  And guess who didn’t get sick at all?
 
That’s right, yours truly.
 
Anyway, join me every week (I haven’t picked a day yet – what makes a good vegetable day?) when I will feature a new vegetable (or maybe fruit) recipe / idea.
5 responses to “Eat Mo’ Vegetables!

  1. Connie Fletcher says:

    Izzy,
    I love the fact that you’re trying to expand your horizons with your veggies. What ever made you become vegan? I applaude your efforts, though. Do you like white bean soup? I add my shredded kale to the soup and even my kale hating husband eats it. Course, he doesn’t know that he’s eating kale, or he have the big one!!! Do you like spinach? That seems to be the one that most people can eat and enjoy. Chard is really delicious, that might be the next one to try. Ease yourself into it. I like my greens just steam fried in a little (OK, alot) of garliced earth balance. I could eat that kind of stuff every day and at every meal………….
    Good luck!!

    • Izzy says:

      I actually really love most vegetables that I have tried. My problem comes with the darker greens (including broccoli but I am familiar enough with it to hide hide it). I enjoy cooked spinach at least but man I cant stand the texture of raw so I usually put that into smoothies.

      There are a surprising number of vegetables that I have never attempted to cook or overvome the fear of – having tasted them a very long time ago.

      I could easily eat a plate of just vegetables now that I have gotten used to the idea that I dont need a main course. Hoping more leafy greens, besides lettuces, will be making an appearance – and more variety.

  2. I’m with ya on this! There are so many veggies I come across in vegan recipes that send me to the google search because I’ve never heard of them! I think this is a fantastic idea, can’t wait to read what happens in the kitchen as a result 🙂

  3. Tiffany says:

    I totally need to eat more veggies, especially raw veggies. I have gotten out of the habit and have been eating way more cookies than anything else these days. Winter is always a time for lots of baking in my world. Can’t wait until summer and fresh produce. Mmmmm…. corn on the cob.

  4. Nicole says:

    I love those seasonal produce charts; where I live (San Francisco) they make one that is a wheel that has two layers, the top layer has a cut out that shows part of the bottom one, and the top has all of the produce that is in season here year-round, while the cutout reveals what’s in season for that time of year, and you just turn it every month. It’s AMAZING. http://www.localfoodswheel.com/san-francisco Unfortunately it looks like they don’t have one for Florida, but maybe they’ll make one soon. Good luck on eating more produce!

Share your thoughts

