Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Spicy Asian Sugar Snap Peas

on February 18, 2012

I made a promise to myself to try one new vegetable recipe per week, or at least average that.

This week was these babies:

Sugar Snap Peas

And yes, those ARE Star Wars chop sticks.  Actually called chop sabers. <<— linkage

Anyway, I also attempted to make roasted Brussels sprouts, but you’ll see more about that ATTEMPT later.  Today is about these.  When it came down to it, this ended up basically just being a stir fry, so for the purpose of a “vegetable,” I didn’t feel like this fit the bill.   I dunno, I suppose if I were still eating meat, this could go along with a meat entree, but as it was – it still felt like it called for brown rice and soy marinaded tofu.  Soo…. kinda feeling like this didn’t do the trick for me, but still I tried a new vegetable recipe.

Prepare ye 1 lb of sugar snap peas

Heat wok or nonstick frying pan (I don’t own a wok) and add
about a teaspoon or two of olive or peanut oil 

Heat until oil is shimmering, about 30 seconds or so. Then add
1 tsp ginger, sliced, minced or paste
2 large garlic cloves, minced or sliced 

Cook just until fragrant, then add the sugar snap peas. 

Meanwhile, mix together
1 tsp sesame oil
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1-2 tsp Sriracha Sauce

Depending on how you like your peas cooked, will depend on how long you continue to cook them.  Kalyn suggested 2 minutes, or until they turn bright green – to keep them tender crisp.  Ideally, this would probably would produce the highest nutrient content, however I’m also cooking for my 13 month old foster son so I cooked them considerably longer and put a lid on the pan to steam them for a bit.

Regardless of how you like them, when you’re about a minute or two away from being done, add the sauce mix and cook for another minute or so, then enjoy.

4 responses to “Spicy Asian Sugar Snap Peas

  1. I love your blog! and seriously….those are the best chopsticks EVER! 🙂

  2. elle says:

    oh no waaay! are those lightsaber chopsticks?! =D
    Lately I’ve taken to munching on sugar peas straight from the bag, but I should try this next!

  3. elle says:

    Heyhey! I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! 😀 http://ellesite.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/versatile-blogger-award-nomination/
    ~elle

Share your thoughts

