Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Oven Roasted Broccoli

on February 2, 2012

Roasted Broccoli

Since this IS a vegan blog afterall, one might expect there to actually be vegetable recipes on it, but alas, there are not. It’s not that I don’t eat vegetables – I do – 7 servings a day, as a matter of fact.  Well, most days.

So my goal now is to find more vegetable recipes and try new vegetables.  When I say vegetable recipe, I mean a recipe that’s quick and easy to make, and does not have a lot of things added that detract from the nutrition of the vegetation itself – but at the same time, makes it so that  broccoli doesn’t taste like fart, for example.

So each week I will be posting at least one “plain old vegetable” recipe/idea.

This oven roasted broccoli is a good example.  With just 3 ingredients, it’s a cinch to make and it tasted pretty darn good too, it sweetened the broccoli slightly and you can just roast it to your preferred tenderness.  I like it soft (that’s not what she said),  but most people like it firmer (heh heh).

I am almost positive that this method of cooking would work for most vegetables.

If you want the broccoli to brown, preheat your oven to 425 degrees, otherwise wait to turn the oven on until you place the broccoli in.

Cut broccoli into desired size florets. I was lazy and purchased pre-cut broccoli because it was on sale, and because that’s just how I roll sometimes.

Drizzle with some olive oil. I do mean some, I used a bit too much and it was too oily.  I’d say about a tablespoon, and toss around a bit.  It’s difficult to see that it’s coated, but it will coat it.

Toss with some garlic salt, or garlic powder and kosher salt, or some minced garlic and kosher salt (I also think garlic infused oil would be nice).

Throw it on a cookie sheet lined with non-stick aluminum foil, or a non-stick cookie sheet.    Roast away for 8-12 minutes depending on your desired tenderness.

 

Apparently I am channeling my inner 13 year old boy today.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Oven Roasted Broccoli

  1. stephsapron says:

    Delish! I love broccoli…well…any vegetable that is oven roasted. How is your spice tolerance? To add a kick you could sprinkle this with a little red pepper flakes!

  2. I LOVE broccoli. It is my absolute favorite veggie and it blows my mind when people bash it. Broccoli is the most misunderstood veggie! I’ve never tried roasting it before, I usually just steam it. I’ll have to try this!

Share your thoughts

