Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

[Vegan] Potato Soup

on January 27, 2012

This recipe, is, by far – my husbands favorite soup.  I won’t tell you that he prefers it with ham, but it’s still his favorite without the ham.   I’m hesitant to even call it potato soup, really, because I typically put in more celery than potatoes because I love the taste of celery soup – but you don’t have to.  So for me, I should really call it celery soup.

A week ago, I posted instructions on making a Roux.  So if you’re not familiar with how to make one, please review that post first as it’s a very important part to making this soup.

Vegan Potato Soup

My omnivore husband’s top 5 vegan soups:

1. Potato Soup
2. Black Bean Soup 
3. Lentil Chili
4. French Lentil Soup
5. Scarborough Fair Soup 

In a soup pot, combine:
1/2 cup celery, chopped (use as much as you like, I end up using 2 cups)
1/2 cup onion, diced (Again, I use more-about a cup)
3 cups water
4 tsp No-Chicken Base – Better than Bullion (or equivalent to 4 cups in other chicken flavored vegetable bullion)

Simmer until celery and onion is tender then add
3 cups potatoes, diced

Once you’ve added in the potatoes, start your roux.

In a microwave, warm (for a couple of minutes – to take the chill off)
2 cups soy milk (if you use almond or rice, you may need to increase the the flour and butter)

In a separate sauce pan, melt, over medium heat
4 Tbsp Earth Balance or other butter

When melted, whisk in
5 Tbsp flour

By the time you’ve added the last of the flour, you’ll have a thick dry paste.    Slowly add in your warmed milk, about 1/2 cup at a time.     Wait before adding more milk until the previous addition has thickened.   By the time you’re done you should have a cake batter consistency.

Again, for instructions or troubleshooting on making the roux, check here.

Once the roux is done, and the potatoes are tender, pour the roux into the soup pot and add salt and pepper to taste.

11 responses to “[Vegan] Potato Soup

  1. We’re definitely soup folk, so I’m anxious to try this. My husband LOVES potatoes, too, so this is a must-make at my house. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Katie Rose says:

    Wow, your blog is looking incredible! You’re getting a very nice collection of recipes and resources going here. 🙂 Very nice work!

  3. Noreen says:

    Looks great, can’t wait to try it.

  4. […] I changed was use almond milk instead of soy and added 1 tablespoon on chopped fresh rosemary. Get the recipe and visit Izzy–she has a great blog with lots of yummy recipes! Thanks, Izzy! Advertisement […]

  5. Connie Fletcher says:

    What fun!!! I love your blog and this recipe sounds yum-a-licious!!! I will be making this tomorrow night!!!! It’s supposed to get colder tomorrow…..can’t complain though. Last year Vermont had record snows….not so much this year. Personally, since I don’t ski, I don’t mind not having boat loads of snow. but I do love the cold….cuz it’s soup weather then!!!!!!!!!!

    • Izzy says:

      I can really empathize with the cold weather = soup comment. I have a serious soup problem, they’re just so easy! Usually they’re a one pot meal and so comforting and filling. Please let me know how you like it!

  6. Connie Fletcher says:

    This recipe was really delish..thanks, Izzy…(try adding some steamed broccoli or roasted cauliflower to it? I know you’re tryin’ to up the ante on eating your veggies..)

  7. […] blog! Izzy combines humor and honesty in her posts and cooks up some pretty awesome recipes. Her potato soup is […]

  8. […] told you I’d find a way to use the pesto—or at least some of it. This soup, from Crash Test Vegetarian has become a mainstay around here. I’ve made small changes during the half a dozen times […]

Share your thoughts

