Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Riddle Me This

on January 16, 2012

I eat very few processed foods – mostly a mix of fresh and cooked whole fruits and vegetables with a few legumes, some soy and whole grains mixed in.

I always figured that fruits and vegetables were loaded with digestive enzymes, yet every single day I battle with heart burn. 

I eat a (mostly) whole, plant based diet so an example of a day for me looks like this:

3-4 servings fresh fruit
2-3 servings raw vegetables
3-4 servings cooked (usually steamed or cooked in soups)
1 serving soy (either milk or tofu)
1-2 whole grains or starchy vegetable
1-2 servings legumes
1 serving nut butter or nuts

So why, for the love of god, do I get so much damned heart burn?

Thoughts from the peanut gallery?

8 responses to “Riddle Me This

  1. Kinenchen says:

    Psyllium husks fixed that problem for my boyfriend and my sister. It’s gnarly just dissolved in water, though. Baking it into bread with nut butter, making crackers in the food dehydrator or mixing it into oatmeal with fruit made it more palatable for me. I hope that helps. :/ So sorry to hear you’re uncomfortable.

    • Izzy says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, it’s not something i’d thought to try. Certain fiber suppliments (pills, thank god!) are made of psyllium husks, so maybe I will give them a try.

  2. Kinenchen says:

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for ya.

  3. SunnyD says:

    Hi Izzy–thanks for the post “like” 🙂

    I have GERD and heartburn as well. I used to take omeprazole to control it but don’t like the osteoporosis risks associated with it. I switched over to Famotidine and have been really happy with it. Also, I’ve just recently started trying Mastic Gum and I’ll say it really helps! So much so that I’ve gone from Famotidine 2x day to just once a day and mastic gum in the evenings before bed.

  4. I too suffer from heartburn and I take DGL Licorice pills- they are chewable and nasty but INSTANT RELIEF! As long as you don’t have high blood pressure these are safe to take. Good Luck and thanks for liking one of my recipes.

  5. pumpkinhoney says:

    Naturally acidic foods can cause heartburn… lots of citrus fruit, tomatoes, vinegar. Also, eating food quickly & spicy foods. AND I don’t know about your beverage choices but caffeine (including chocolate… wahhhh) can seriously cause heartburn. My mom cut coffee completely out of her diet to stop nearly constant heartburn & she has it much less frequently now. Your diet sounds extremely healthy though 🙂

    Also, thanks for the tips about Veganomicon! I just got Isa’s “Appetite for Reduction” but most of the recipes in it are quite simple. I do like it for the combinations I wouldn’t have otherwise thought about. But yeah, I’ve read so many mixed reviews of Veganomicon! And I totally agree with the comment about things seeming different if you’ve been vegan for a longer time! Ha, I haven’t gotten used to nutritional yeast, mock cream cheese, or any replacement cheese for that matter. Something you wrote about Daiya cheddar made me laugh.

    Also, definitely try the lemon coconut cake for your birthday!! It blew my mind. And the recipe for the cake part of the cake is actually adapted from one from Veganomicon I believe… a Lemon Bundt Cake recipe.

    Sorry for taking over your comments!!!

Share your thoughts

