Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Scrambled. Freaking. Tofu. Awesomeness!

on January 12, 2012

Seriously, I’m so excited.  I finally got the Tofu Scramble correct!

A few days back I attempted my first Tofu Scramble which you can find here.  There was something significant missing and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.  Also, unlike the last attempt – this doesn’t have that strong tofu taste.

I discovered there were two things missing.  Well, one was not technically missing, I had the wrong type of ingredient.

So first, the success.  Go ahead and marvel.

tofu scramble

 

Ok, so the missing stuff?  Well, the first ingredient was the tofu.  I had it ALL wrong.  I was using vacuum packed tofu which just does NOT work with this.  The second ingredient was soy sauce.  Yep. I don’t freaking know why, you don’t really taste it but it rounded the scramble and was exactly what was missing.

In a nonstick frying pan, saute on medium heat in some oil for about 5 minutes or so
1 medium onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
3-5 cloves garlic, minced

Then add
1 lb tofu, drained (and pressed if you like it firmer, otherwise the excess liquid cooks out)

Break up the tofu with your spatula and make sure all the ingredients are mixed well.  As it cooks, periodically stir and press the tofu with the spatula, making sure to get out all excess water.

The goal here is to remove the excess liquid.  At this point, you may want to add a little bit of oil, now that the tofu is dried out.

Next add:
1 package mushrooms, sliced or quartered

Stir in the mushrooms and prepare the spice mix while that cooks.    You’ll need (these are approximates!)
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 Tbsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
salt to taste 

Mix the spices together with
2-3 Tbsp soy sauce 

Dump mixture over tofu and vegetables, mixing in well.  Stir this around and taste it, adding additional garlic, cumin and soy sauce as needed.

Add a smidge of water to the tofu mixture (unless for some reason it’s very wet still), and stir in
1/4 cup nutritional yeast 

 

Eat ye tofu scramble plain or on toast or in a pita pocket.  I’m convinced my omnivore husband will like this when served in a pita pocket, but it’s his birthday this week so he’s not being forced to eat tofu for a few days. 🙂

3 responses to “Scrambled. Freaking. Tofu. Awesomeness!

  1. Oh I’ve been meaning to get around to making this one morning. Thanks for the road test and tips! 🙂

  2. tofubelly says:

    Nice! I’ve been meaning to finally try a tofu scramble recipe. Thanks for posting!

    • Izzy says:

      I tried this a few times before I got it just right. Let me know if you try it, it’s easier than it sounds and is now a staple. I make it once a week and just break it up for a few breakfasts for when I’m not feeling like having fruit.

Share your thoughts

