Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

This was not the tofu scramble I was looking for…

on January 7, 2012

There’s a vegetarian restaurant near here called Consciousness Blossoms, and there I had my very first tofu scramble.

Every since then, I’ve been absolutely in love.  In love with THAT tofu scramble.  It’s perfect.  In every way.  I could eat it every day.   And I haven’t a darned clue what the freak is in it.

Anyway, I’ve been searching high and low for that perfect recipe and finally decided to try it out, and this is what I came up with:

Tofu Scramble

Yep.  Looks good.  And in it’s own way, I suppose it was… or rather would be if it didn’t taste like tofu.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy good flavored tofu, but I can’t freaking stand the taste of that very unique tofu flavor by itself.    Anyway, needless to say, it was not the tofu scramble I was looking for.

The recipe is from Isa, so I’m sure it’s good and it’s just my taste buds.  But since I didn’t approve and neither did the hubby figure, I’m not going to bother putting the recipe on here.   If you’re interested you can find it at The Post Punk Kitchen.

Do you have a favorite Tofu Scramble recipe?

4 responses to “This was not the tofu scramble I was looking for…

  1. Debbie says:

    I love tofu scramble and have it about once a week. However, I don’t have a real recipe. I usually chop up onion, garlic, sprinkle in a little turmeric and sea salt. Then I just toss in whatever is in the fridge, kale, spinach, asparagus, and/or tomatoes. I top it off with a little Daiya cheese. Yummm!

    • Izzy says:

      😛 Daiya is evil.

      Seriously though I think it’s going to take a little bit more than turmeric to convince this lady! Something was really missing for me. I’ll figure it out!

  2. Kinenchen says:

    You’ll find your best tofu scramble at home. As you’ve discovered, once you find a recipe you like, tweak it until you get your ultimate scramble. Mine starts with a block of Mori-Nu silken tofu (I like them a little runny) and includes a dash of turmeric, another dash of paprika, about half a tablespoon of nutritional yeast, garlic salt to taste and then whatever is in the fridge: tomato, basil, fresh garlic, spinach. Like Debbie says, Daiya makes anything vegan better. 🙂 I love the pepper jack! Hot sauce too… and some soy sausages. … I’m drooling. BRB (Thank you for sharing!)

Share your thoughts

