Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

New Year GOALS

on January 2, 2012

I really hate the word RESOLUTION. 

To me, and many people I know resolution implies something that is supposed to be done perfectly, and if you don’t, then you’ve failed to keep your resolution.  Do you know anyone that has actually ever kept an honest resolution?  It requires determination and resolve that is typically very difficult to carry through an entire year, especially if you’re trying to do something very difficult or against your normal way of life.

So instead, I have my new year daily GOALS.  I’m directing my efforts towards improvement, my motives are my day to day actions rather than an end goal (eg lose weight, etc). 

Ahem.

Goal number..

1 – Eat more fruits and vegetables every day.  8-10+ servings to be exact.  I’m a solid 3-4 a day kinda gal. 
2 – Eat fewer processed soy based products.  If I wanna eat soy, it’s going to have to come from tofu more often rather than Boca burgers, etc.
3 – Find more go-to vegan recipes that make not stopping for a bean burrito easier:  things like my Black Bean Soup,  and my Chili Mac with Kale.
4 – And unrelated to food – each day try to be a little more positive.  This is an ongoing goal, I don’t think I’ll ever NOT have this goal unless at some point I start farting rainbows.  Then I might cut back on the positivity. 

What are your daily goals for 2012?

4 responses to “New Year GOALS

  1. trueindigo says:

    Daily goals include trying to not undo the hard work I started 2 years ago (when I started the Couch to 5k program), finding and blogging great vegan things I uncover and trying not to stress about… well everything – HA! It would be cool to tackle my first marathon this year so I will include trying to stay injury free. I am glad I found your blog, very nice.

  2. Felicity says:

    Totally agree with the whole “goals instead of resolutions” thing.

    My food-related goals are:
    1. eat more fruit & veg… 8-10 servings (hmmm, now where have I heard that before? 😉 ). Ideally the “what colour is your diet” guidelines, in which you eat servings from every colour fruit/veg group every day.
    2. eat more legumes!
    3. eat fewer sweets & crisps.

    • Izzy says:

      Hmm! I wonder!

      Great goals. 🙂 I’d never heard of what color is your diet, but I have been trying to follow that basic principle without a whole heck of a lot of success, but better than I used to!

Share your thoughts

