Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Oatmeal hates me.

on January 1, 2012

I love oats.  I love steel cut oats.  I love plain oatmeal with a little splenda.  I love oatmeal with apples, or bananas, or nuts and dried fruit…  Any way you present it, I love it.

oatmeal

So whats my problem?

 
Oh…. just that almost every-single-time I have oatmeal I get wicked painful heartburn. 
 
“Oatmeal?” you say?  Well, even if you don’t… yes, oatmeal.  The worst freaking heartburn known to man.  I’ve tried a billion different ways of preparing it and adding and subtracting ingredients.  I’ve tried all the different cuts.
 
So tell me, someone.  What the heck?  It’s the only food on the planet that gives me heartburn, and I’m not willing to give up on it.  I’m vegan and I gotta have my hot breakfast food!
 
So is it acidic?  If so, does anyone have any experience with balancing alkaline foods? 
 
Please tell me someone else has this problem!
4 responses to “Oatmeal hates me.

  1. Heather says:

    I used to have this problem – until I switched to gluten free oats. Not Bob’s Red Mill brand – they still gave me heartburn. Any other brand that’s gluten free doesn’t though. But I’m also gluten sensitive – so it may not work for you. But it’s worth a shot!

    • Izzy says:

      I don’t think I’m gluten sensitive, since I eat vital wheat gluten all the time without an issue. But I can’t help but wonder if it’s worth a shot, I know that oatmeal isn’t prepared the same way other grains are, so you never know. Thanks for the suggestion and for stopping by!

  2. Jenn Jennings says:

    A common problem with grains, seeds and nuts is the amount of phytic acid they have in them – but I’ve never heard of that causing heartburn. Phytic acid limits the absorbability of vitamins (that’s what allows seeds to pass thru undigested so they can sprout later) Try to find a source for “soaked” grains, and see how your body reacts to them.

Share your thoughts

