Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Corn Chowder

on August 30, 2011

 

Mmmmm, soup.  Seriously, sorry about being MIA.  Between taking care of a baby, and losing (then subsequently finding) my camera, and starting school, it seems as though a lot of my life has been put on the back burner.  Vegan corn chowder

Since we’ve had a little visitor, I’ve been relying on my comfort foods – soup.  In the rare moments that we’ve found time to feed ourselves, at least soup is ready to just be heated up and easy to pack for work.   I know it’s hot, but I just don’t care.  I love soup, and I love how easy it is to make and pack.  You’re going to be seeing a lot of it from me for a bit, while I adjust.

Since going vegan, there’s one particular soup that my husband misses the most.  It’s one that my family has loved for years and I’ve made probably a hundred times.  Um, by the way it’s not corn chowder.  It was ham and potato soup.  Corn chowder would have been less embarassing.

Anyway, I’ve been less than eager to attempt it since I had no clue how it would turn out when using non-dairy milk.  Anywho, the other day, the stars aligned and I had all the ingredients for the potato soup (minus the ham, cause I didn’t want to waste perfectly good fake ham on a soup that was a bust)… or so I thought.

So I started to make the soup, but then realized I was missing my favorite ingredient – celery.  It sounds silly, but I really really like cream of celery soup, and I love the way celery tastes in potato soup.  I couldn’t make celery and potato soup without celery, so I decided to search around to see if I had anything else that I might use in place of celery – and I did.  A can of creamed corn.  So… I tried Corn Chowder for the first time ever, and the result was a yummy, slightly sweet, tummy warming soup.

This didn’t win the hubby figure over, but he doesn’t like creamed corn, so it wasn’t because of a bad soup as much as his particular taste.

In your standard soup pot combine
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cups water
1 Tbsp not-chicken Bullion (I use Better Than Bullion brand)

Bring to a boil and cook until onions are tender.   Then add in and cook
About 3-4 cups of diced potatoes
1 Tbsp pepper, or to taste
1 tsp salt, or to taste 

Meanwhile make a roux.  In a separate small saucepan melt
3 Tbsp vegan margarine
then whisk in
3 Tbsp all purpose flour
When a paste is formed, slowly stir in
2 cups soy milk (If you want a sweeter soup, use original or you could use almond milk.  Otherwise, use unsweetened soy milk)

The goal is to have thickened soy milk, but since soy milk doesn’t react the same way that milk does, I found myself letting it cook for a tid bit until thickened afterwards instead of relying on the same roux methods I’d been using with standard milk.   I also could have just been in a rush.

To make a standard roux you do need a little bit of patience.  Each batch of milk should start thickening before adding the next bit.  But whatever.  Do what you gotta do.

When the potatoes are tender, add in
1 Can creamed corn

When the roux has thickened a bit, add it into the potato and corn mixture.  Enjoy!

 

One response to “Corn Chowder

  1. I love soup in the fall and winter mostly. Your post gives me the itch to get going on it. 🙂

Share your thoughts

