Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Tofu Lo Mein [revisited]

on August 22, 2011

I made this the first time back in May, and it’s still one of my favorites.  Original recipe HERE.

Lo Mein

It would be super easy if not for the tofu, but the addition of tofu makes everything complicated to me.  I requested a tofuexpress for Christmas, but until then, I’m still stuck with the paper towel squish method.

Anyway, until today, this recipe has evaded photography.  Mostly because it just begs to be eaten – I never could seem to find the time to photograph it before it was all eaten.  But today it has been captured, photographed and cataloged for your eye nomming pleasure.

I froze the tofu this time, to see if it changed the texture like everyone says and it did, but not as much as I hoped.

5 responses to “Tofu Lo Mein [revisited]

  1. the RA Vegan says:

    That looks great! I think freezing the tofu changes the texture considerably, but I might be weird. 🙂

    • Izzy says:

      I froze it overnight, in the package. Do you normally freeze it longer? I thought what was interesting is the pre-cooked texture was considerably denser, but after I cooked it it didn’t seem to make much of a difference. I dunno. That was my very first time freezing.

  2. vegantester says:

    hmmm, how do you fry it? if i freeze the tofu, i don’t even bother pressing it these days – i throw it in the pan (no oil, to start) on med-low and let it cook slowly to dry it out. then when it starts going a bit yellow, i add a few splashes of soy and peanut oil and cook till golden. make sure you let the tofu rest (just like you would with meat) after it’s cooked – this also helps increase the chewiness.

    • Izzy says:

      I’m still very new at it, so I’ve tried it a few times kind of dry frying, which I liked the texture of but it ended up sticking. Unfortunately I have gallbladder issues so I can’t handle the oil in the stir fry itself AND the tofu, so I’ll have to try real fried tofu on another occassion when the rest of the dish is very low fat.

  3. vegantester says:

    oh if you don’t want the oil and you don’t have a non-stick pan, try baking it: line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, lay out your tofu pieces (also maybe try small cubes? it’ll dry out faster), and bake at 350 for 30 mins or so (the proper way is to bake for an hour at 200, but if you’re freezing it, you probably don’t need to dry it out so long).

    what brand of tofu are you using? do you have a favourite? i have discovered that some brands are def better than others, and i tend to exclusively use wildwood unless it’s not available.

Share your thoughts

