Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

on August 8, 2011

Did you know it’s pronounced Key-Nwah, not Kwinowa.

I am especially blonde sometimes. And not just, “Tee-Hee I’m a ditz” moments, but full fledged “I’ve somehow managed to put my shoe on my head and I can’t, for the life of me, figure out why my husband is looking at me like I am an alien with 30 heads. Doesn’t it belong there?”  I’m so blonde that the family has coined the phrase “Izzy-isms” which refer to a method of speech that’s so special it’s reserved only for those who can flunk pre-school (I didn’t really), or says things as ridiculous as, “I’m as confused as a blind cat.” (I did.)

When I’m not galavanting around in a straight jacket, I like to spend my free time making up words without realizing it – like Sabobo (for swiss cheese?  Really??), or twisting words within a sentence such as, “Your cold is nose.”

So it really came as no surprise to me when nobody knew what I was looking for the first time I asked for this Kwinowa product.  Either that, or they played dumb just to see me squirm.  Silly wanna be hippy girl.  I clearly was NOT cool enough.

Since I’m high and mighty enough now, it’s KEENWA PEOPLE, GET IT RIGHT.  GEEZE!

Ahem.

Hubby found the original recipe, conveniently located on the back of the Quinoa box.  This is the Izzy-fied version and the he was sweet enough to make for me.  Yes, HE made.    I wanted to eat the whole darned batch.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large skillet, saute
     1/2 medium onion, chopped
     1/4 lb mushrooms, sliced (or about half a standard container)
in
     1 Tbsp vegan margerine or butter

When onion is translucent and mushrooms are browned,  stir in
     1 can diced tomatoes, drained – juice reserved
     2 cloves garlic, minced
     1/2 cup salsa
     1/2 can garbanzo beans or about 1 cup, drained and rinsed
     1/2 cup matchstick carrots (optional)
Simmer over medium heat for about 10-15 minutes.  Use reserved juice to add moisture if mixture becomes too dry or begins to burn while cooking.

Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, add
     1/2 cup Quinoa (rinsed and strained)
     1 cup water
     1 tsp un-chicken or vegetable bullion
Bring to a boil then reduce to a low and cover.   Let it simmer, stirring occasionally until all liquid is absorbed (about 8-12 minutes).

When done, the grain appears soft and translucent and the germ ring will be visible along the outside edge of the grain.

When quinoa and vegetable mixture are cooked, combine and stuff into
      4 large or 6 medium seeded green peppers

Place peppers in baking dish with remaining tomato juice or about 2-3 Tbsp water and bake, covered, for 40-45 minutes or until desired pepper doneness.

2 responses to “Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

  1. kristalia says:

    LOL I’m full red head but I still like to go Borse Hack riding and shop at the Shoe Less Pay Store (oh yeah it’s true) so your not the only one lol I was also pronouncing Quinoa wrong until I watched a vegan video talking about it 😄

    Hugs and Kisses
    Kristalia

Share your thoughts

