Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Watermelon Granita (aka Slushy!)

on August 7, 2011

Watermelon Granita

When your husband says, “Hey maybe we should use the blender,” you may want to listen.

I did not.

And I made one HELL of a mess.  For some reason I thought this would be better made in the food processor.  What the heck was I thinking?  So I whirred away, and next thing I know there’s watermelon juice coming out of spots in my food processor that I didn’t even know were open!  Yes.

It even seeped out from UNDER the processor bowl.  You know how?  Somehow, SOMEHOW, I managed to get watermelon up and UNDER the blade-mabob-thingy.  And if that wasn’t enough, it spun so high, it started leaking out from under the lid.   I ALMOST took photos.  Almost.

Thankfully my husband didn’t laugh, point,  and say, “I told you so!”  Although, he could have rightfully done so.  He just handed me a paper towel.  I’ll bet he was laughing in his head though!

The second batch (yes, I made a second one after the first one turned out so great I knew I had to share it with all my friends) was made using the blender – where all things fruity should be chopped up.

Next is strawberries…  Thanks to 365 Scoops for the inspiration!

Choppa choppa
Some seedless watermelon (let your blender be your guide – fill-her-up!)

Into a small saucepan, pour out a small amount of the mixture (about 1/2 a cup or so, no need to measure) and combine
1/4-1/2 cup sugar (or equivelent substitutes) depending on the sweetness of your watermelon (and don’t EVEN tell me you didn’t taste it)

When the sugar is completely dissolved, add sugar/watermelon mixture back into the blender along with
1-2 Tbsp Vodka (optional – you can’t taste it – or more if you want some fun, it helps keep it from freezing solid)
2-3 Tbsp Lime juice

Blendy, blendy  for a few seconds to mix it all up then pour mixture into a large glass baking dish or rimmed baking sheet / jelly roll pan.  Cover with plastic wrap and throw in the freezer.

Depending on your freezer (ours took hours to even start freezing, it sucks!), you’ll either need to start the scraping process when it’s frozen a little bit.  With a spoon or fork to scrape away at the top layer.  Uh…. just see the pictures. Yeah.

watermelon granita

Then keep freezing it, and scrape the rest of it!  If you don’t know what to do from here on out, there’s just no help for you.

watermelon granita

Noms.

10 responses to “Watermelon Granita (aka Slushy!)

  1. Yum! If it helps I once removed a jug of strawberry daquiri incorrectly from the blender – all over the floor!

  2. the RA Vegan says:

    I tried to make something last week with the food processor only to have my kids scream “MOM! It’s coming out!!” and then I switched to the blender. 🙂

  3. Did you make this after seeing “Something for the Weekend” this morning? Because it was made on television.

    • Izzy says:

      Nope, hubby and I were going to make watermelon pops with it, but were unable to find any popsicle makers. I just happened to stumble across the blog that I referenced and we had everything on hand to make popsicles already, so we just went at it.

  4. Até says:

    Can’t wait to try this ! (and yes, blender, definitely a blender -.- )

  5. vegandeb says:

    Looks very refreshing!

Share your thoughts

