Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Tofu Ricotta o’ Doom!

on July 29, 2011

So this a hybrid of multiple recipes.  I call it the ricotta o’ doom because I imagined it capturing and stealing the powers of flavor.   Just behold the badassary that tofu has become:

But I digress.

More seriously, the recipe is a combination of Cashew Ricotta by Vegan Fazool (which, incidentally – I DO own Veganomicon, but sometimes I look for recipes in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep and I do that from my phone, not a book) and the Tofu Ricotta Recipe from Happy Herbivore.

So, without further ado.

Cashew Tofu Ricotta

1/2 cup raw cashews
1 lb firm tofu – not pressed (I particularly liked this part)
2-3 cloves garlic OR 1 tsp dried garlic
2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast
2 tsp Oil
1-2 Tbsp dried Italian Seasoning Mix
1-2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all but tofu in a food processor and processes until cashews turn into a paste. *  Crumble unpressed tofu into processor and pulse until all ingredients are mixed.  But don’t do it too long or you’ll end up more with a creamy consistency (as seen above) than a lumpy one like ricotta is known for.  It looks lumpy-ish in the picture, but it’s not how it’s supposed to be – it was much too creamy.

*I had a difficult time with this because I have a very large food processor and very few cashews.   In retrospect, I might have doubled this recipe just to make it easier on myself.

7 responses to “Tofu Ricotta o’ Doom!

  1. Yum, yum, yum! I need that ricotta!

    • Izzy says:

      Everybody needs this ricotta. My omnivore husband is AMAZED by the stuff. I’m thinking a white pizza is in my near future… 😀

  2. E says:

    Yummmm, guess what’s going in my vegan lasagna next time instead of boring, plain-Jane fluffed-up-and-super-seasoned tofu…

  3. Thanks for the props! I’ve been using a full teaspoon of salt in my recipe (which you linked to above) and the nooch would give it that extra salty bite as well. I love how a recipe undergoes so many changes and variations as it evolves to become whatever we want it to be…

  4. Badassery, indeed! I’ve never added cashews to tofu ricotta–I will definitely try that next time–thanks!

Share your thoughts

