Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

What are your go-to comfort foods?

on July 27, 2011

It’s been a sleepless, depressing week so far.  My manager has made some significantly unfair decisions which has resulted a large number of fantastic employees being royally shafted.

Starting 8/13 I will only be able to see my husband for a few hours each week.  Needless to say, spirits are low.  And comfort food abounds.  I cooked the Pepper Seitan the other day, but haven’t cooked anything sense then or done anything resembling cooking.  Instead I’ve been living off store bought Tofu Salad Sandwiches (Or eggless egg-salad), and Green Smoothies and multivitamins.

One thing that’s really helped me survive after the sleepless nights is one of the ingredients in my smoothie is Green Vibrance.  They also make a plant based protein that I’m eager to try but haven’t been able to get a sample of yet.  No, it’s the actual Green Vibrance product that has been giving me so much energy, and thankfully just enough to get me through this.

What are your favorite vegan comfort foods?

When you’re depressed, do you have recipes that are especially easy or do you move to convenience foods?

Sadly, time does not stop and give us time to pull ourselves together.  But thankfully Kleenex is readily available and I’ve got a fridge full of smoothie ingredients.  In a few days I’ll find my Zen again and learn to accept where I am.

4 responses to “What are your go-to comfort foods?

  1. Aww, hopefully things get better soon!
    I turn to pita pizzas and quick mock Reuben sandwiches: http://wp.me/pDTwq-hg
    Good luck!

    • Izzy says:

      Thanks so much, Valerie. You know, I haven’t thought about pita pizza’s in a while, thanks for the suggestion. Sounds perfect!

      Things will get better, they always do!

  2. the RA Vegan says:

    Sorry things are so difficult. Yes things will get better, but it still feels rough now.

    In times of extreme stress I eat a lot of nut butter sandwiches, cereal with almond milk, and non-dairy ice cream right from the carton. Not always the healthiest, but the truth.

Share your thoughts

