Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

They say it’s my birthday…. Happy birthday smoothie to me!

on July 25, 2011

This is my first birthday as a vegan, and my last birthday ever (I officially turned 29).  I was going to bake myself a cake, but I decided to start my year off right.

Green Smoothie

I made my first green smoothie, and didn’t get enough pictures to get a pretty one before the batteries finally died on my camera (I say finally because I’ve been using the same batteries for almost a year – Energizer Ultimate Lithium)

Anyway, basically the idea was mix greens with fruit.  And it was delicious!   I added some other stuff not for taste, but for nutrition.

Izzy’s Birthday Smoothie
1/2 – 1 cup frozen berries (I used blueberry and strawberry)
1 cup fresh baby spinach
1/2 banana
1/2 cup liquid, I used juice and soymilk
1 scoop Green Vibrance
1/2 – 1 scoop favorite protein powder

Blend, baby blend.

11 responses to “They say it’s my birthday…. Happy birthday smoothie to me!

  1. Happy birthday! Funny, I seem to turn 29 every year . . . I don’t know my “real” age . . . 😉 Hope you have a great day!

  2. Liz says:

    Happy birthday!! I hope you have a fabulous day.

    I’m about two weeks out from my 29th birthday as well! Of course, I can’t seem to think of myself as a day over 25 so it doesn’t matter much what my ‘real’ age is 😀

    • Izzy says:

      I certainly do not think of myself in any way over 23-25. I still play video games and stay up to all hours of the night. 🙂

  3. Yum! Happy Birthday! 🙂

  4. E says:

    Have a beautiful birthday! 🙂

  5. Sam says:

    OOOOH did you save any for me? Love ya babe

  6. Happy Birthday! What a positive way to celebrate your day. Wishing you a healthy, happy year!

  7. Izzy says:

    Thanks everyone! I’m truly blessed.

Share your thoughts

