Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Better Than Bullion

on July 19, 2011

I have been using Better Than Bullion brand… uh, bullion-like-stuff… for as long as I can remember.  Even before I became a vegan, I was using Better Than Bullion beef and chicken base.  Well now I’m vegan, and the vegan police on Scott Pilgrim Vs The World were kind enough to teach me that chicken isn’t vegan (“Chicken isn’t vegan?), chicken bullion is out of the question.

But I digress.

Anyway, I have been using the vegetable bullion, but recently discovered that Better Than Bullion also makes “No Chicken Base” which is a chicken flavored product (as seen on TV… er, below), duh!

Anywho, so I tried it out.  Izzy said, “Let there be chicken flavored couscous for her Black Bean and Couscous Salad, and there was chicken flavored couscous.  And it was good!”

3 responses to “Better Than Bullion

  1. Katie Rose says:

    a) I love you for referencing Scott Pilgrim.
    b) This stuff is the bomb! I was a veg-broth-cuber for the longest time but I recently picked up Better Than Bullion and I’m never going back to the dark days of veggie broth cubes. ❤

    • Izzy says:

      I’m pretty sure Scott Pilgrim is one of my all time favorite movies. It’s so damn quoteable! I’m not one to re-watch movies, but anytime it’s on it somehow sucks us in.

  2. vegantester says:

    i have a jar of the no-chicken and the no-beef – i use either of these in place of the real thing, and quite often in place of even regular veggie stock/broth.

Share your thoughts

