Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Reese’s fail :(

on July 18, 2011

So yesterday, I set about to make Peanut Butter Cups.  I really thought that these would be epic and life changing, and here’s why.

I love. love. love. love Reese’s cups.  I’m not particularly a sweets person, but from time to time I want a Reese’s, and there’s nothing vegan about a Reese’s.  So since becoming a vegan, the closest I’ve come to tasting a Reese’s peanut butter cup is on the lips of my husband after he eats one.  For shame!

Now about this…

First, let me say that the filling was scrum-dilly-umptious.  Seriously.   The recipe can be found here.

So here’s the deal.  Vegan chocolate chips are semi-sweet.  Semi-sweet + Peanut butter es no bueno to me.  My husband still seems to like them, but I’m going to have to figure out a way to make milder chocolate before I try again.  I learned that though, so I guess it’s not totally a fail.  It’s just a step closer to the goal.

Oh, and also – I also learned something else.  Peanut Butter Panda Puffs are the bomb!

4 responses to “Reese’s fail :(

  1. Coy Bettie says:

    Sorry they were too sweet for you. Try to find dark choclate vegan chips they are a more pure choclate and “usually” less sugary. 🙂 Good Luck!

    • Izzy says:

      Oops sorry, no it was the bitterness that was the problem, not the sweetness. I like bittersweet / dark by themselves, but not mixed with peanut butter it seems. Of course, after I made these I realized that I didn’t like the dark chocolate Reese’s when I tried them before.

      Gotta find a way to make the chocolate a little closer to milk chocolate. Maybe adding some Earth Balance and a little more milk to the chocolate chips? Hmmm. Going to try them again soon, cause the filling itself was FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC, so I know this is definitely THE recipe, just need to figure out the chocolate aspect.

  2. Katie Rose says:

    Apparently I am going to spam you with comments today. I totally get the semi-sweet issue. I’d recommend looking for Rice Dream Milk Chocolate bars. They’re made with rice milk and they seriously taste like milk chocolate. I found them a few years into my veganism so they were actually sort of strange to me since I’ve acclimated to dark chocolate, but they’re really yum and might work better for your reese’s cups.
    And on the subject of those cereals… Leaping Lemurs. Chocolate + peanut butter. Oh man. Win.

    • Izzy says:

      haha, you’re always allowed to ‘spam’ me. 😀

      Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll try to find it. I got some chocolate chips that are 42% that I’m going to try with some added fat and sugar if that doesn’t work I will definitely try those chocolate bars.

Share your thoughts

