Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Eggrolls

on July 14, 2011

I used the same recipe I used for my Lo Mein with Tofu, I just chopped things up a little smaller, skipped the pasta (duh!) and wrapped them in fillo dough.

“Why fillo dough,” you ask?  Ok, maybe you didn’t, but I’ll tell you anyway… I really wanted eggrolls.  I didn’t want the raw rice wrappers.  I wanted them cooked.  I suppose I could have hunted down vegan egg roll wrappers, but the fact of the matter is – I hate having to drive 45 minute for a specialty item that I don’t even know I’ll like.  And, what if I did like it?  Would I drive 45 minutes to collect said item?  No, probably not.  I’m pretty gosh darned lazy.

So instead, I try to find ingredients that I can find anywhere.  Or almost anywhere.  Or at least at Rolling Oats.

All I did was follow the package directions – defrosted the sheets, folded them in half (cause it took two layers to hold the filling), and sealed them with a little olive oil.

Baked at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes (watch them!), and they turn out like this.  With sweet chili sauce (which I could easily lick right out of the bowl) they were pretty good, but they had a powdery taste from the fillo that I couldn’t quite shake.  My (omnivore) husband didn’t seem to mind and scarfed them right the heck down, but it bugged me, so I’m still on my prowl for wrappers.

I’ve seen people use wheat spring roll wrappers, but I cannot find them for the life of me.  Maybe I’ll have to try baking the rice ones…

2 responses to “Eggrolls

  1. That looks sooooo yummy!

Share your thoughts

