Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Chickpeas and Vegetables over What-the-heck-ever

on July 6, 2011

Put it over whatever grain you like, or eat it as-is.  But whatever you do, try it.  It’s strange, but it’s worth it.  For a visual walk through click HERE.

After tasting this dish, it instantly got added to my favorites list.  I’ll be honest, while it was cooking, I didn’t think it would make the cut AT ALL.  Even after eating it, and knowing what it tastes like, whenever I cook it, I’m a bit put off by the smell.  But, it turned out to be such an incredibly easy, tasty dish that I couldn’t help but want to share it.

I really struggled with what to name this.  It’s an Ethiopian inspired dish, which sounds exciting and exotic… now that I’ve made it.  Prior to making it, I think if I saw the word Ethiopian in the title, I would be a bit intimidated, which is probably why the original poster called it Vegetable Couscous.

Clearly, the original dish was served over Couscous, which I think would be great, and would actually make it incredibly fast if I didn’t happen to have microwave brown rice packets which I got on sale.  Also, I almost feel like Couscous would get lost in this dish.   I won’t know for sure until we try it.

Update: The couscous most definitely did get lost in the dish.  However there are some bonuses to using couscous, and might be worth a try.

2 Garlic cloves, minced
1 medium Onion, diced
1 Tbsp. Ground Cumin
1 tsp. Turmeric
2 tsp. Paprika
1/8 tsp Cayenne pepper
2 medium Zucchini, cut into ½-inch cubes
2-3 carrots, sliced
1 15-oz. can Chick-peas, rinsed and drained
1 16-oz can Tomatoes, finely chopped, with their juice
½ cup Raisins (Optional)
1 tsp Salt or to taste
1/4 cup water or broth

Saute onion until translucent (using oil or water, depending on your preference).  Add a small amount of additional oil or water depending on what you’re using and the garlic and spices.  Cook until fragrant and spices have formed a paste, about 1-2 minutes.  Depending on the size of your pot, you may need to add a few tablespoons of water here to keep the spices from drying to the pan.

Add tomatoes carrots and water or broth, cover and simmer until carrots are tender (or tender-crisp if you prefer), then add Zucchini and Chickpeas, and continue cooking until Zucchini is tender, about an additional 15 minutes or so.

While this IS good the first day, it’ seven better the second day, but that seems to be the way with all tomato dishes.

Share your thoughts

