Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Chickpea and Couscous Stuffed Peppers

on May 2, 2011

I think it’s kind of ironic that while I love green peppers, and I love stuffed green peppers even more – I do not really enjoy the combination of tomato sauce topped anything stuffed inside a green pepper.   Perhaps some bad childhood memories or something, but it’s never really been something I got over.

To this day, when I stuff peppers, I do it with couscous.  Sadly, I’ve always also stuffed with cheese and meat.  And, since cheese and meat are no longer on my dinner plate, I had to re-vamp my recipe.  I will always miss feta cheese, but in this recipe, lemon made a good stand-in.

1 box Near East Mushroom Couscous (clearly, you can use whatever, but this is my favorite… I buy lots when they are bogo)
1 1/2 cup carrots, small chop
1 can chickpeas
1 1/4 cup vegetable broth (or water and bullion)
3 cloves garlic
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
3 Tbsp Lemon juice
4-5 bell peppers cut in half and de-seeded
2 Tbsp Oil (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Optional:  In a medium saucepan cook onion in oil until translucent.

Combine all additional ingredients (except couscous and peppers), and cook until carrots are tender.

While liquid is boiling, stir in couscous and spice pack, cover and remove from heat.  Let sit for about 5 minutes.

Stuff peppers with mixture, cover with aluminum foil and cook for 340 minutes or until peppers are tender.

If you haven’t already done so, please find a good local produce stand.  While locating a good one may be difficult, it is well worth the effort.  Once you find one with good variety, find out what days they receive their shipments.  A very good one will get stock almost every day.

Why is it worth hunting around for a produce stand?  Well not only are we supporting local(ish) farmers, we also get 5 green peppers for $1.  Try  doing THAT in a grocery store.

The entire recipe cost was $3.50.

Share your thoughts

