Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Black Bean Breakfast Hash

on May 1, 2011

I love breakfast.  It has always been one of my favorite meals.  Unfortunately, for me, I’m also a savory foods kinda girl.  Can you think of a savory vegan breakfast food besides potatoes or bread?

I really missed scrambles, so today I decided I would try my hand at one sans the egg, of course.  A few days ago, I happened upon Soyrizo, and while it does appear in this particular hash, as well as in the picture… it probably won’t be appearing again.  It was OKAY but not good enough to purchase again.  We decided that in the future we would season the black beans with similar spices.  The heat from the Soyrizo was most definitely what made the dish – and not the Soyrizo itself.

Originally I was going to wrap this into a burrito, but we decided it was perfect without it.  This recipe is for 2 people, adjust the ingredients accordingly.

2 small potatoes, cut into 1/4 inch cubes
1/2 medium onion, diced
2 green peppers, sliced thin
1/2 can seasoned black beans, drained and rinsed
Seasoning Salt
Spices of your choice
2 oz Soyrizo (optional!)
2 tsp Oil (optional)

Since I didn’t want to cook the potatoes separately, I diced them fairly small and decided to steam them in the frying pan, along with the onions and green peppers.

Do this by heating the frying pan, adding the potatoes, green peppers, onions and a bit of water (maybe 1/8 of a cup… not worth measuring).  Cover the pan and let it cook until the potatoes are tender.

Meanwhile, in a separate frying pan, cook the Soyrizo according to the directions on the package.

Once the potatoes are tender, drain all the water if finishing with oil, or most of it, if you want a meal with no added fat.  Either way, sprinkle with seasoning salt and any additional spices then toss in the black beans and cook until beans are hot and the potato mixture has dried out.

If using Soyrizo, stir in and enjoy.

It was definitely a hit, and is now a breakfast favorite of mine.   Hey, look!  I can enjoy breakfast again!  Oh, and by the way, Soyrizo was a hubby fail.

6 responses to “Black Bean Breakfast Hash

  1. Connie Fletcher says:

    This is very close (not really) to what I make in the a.m. Take out the beans and the Soyrizo, add finely diced garlic (lots) and use Earth Balance instead of oil…then add kale….yum!

  2. Connie Fletcher says:

    There is a secret..actually two secrets around kale: first, freeze it first. Kale sweetens with freezing. The kale I used this morning, I picked last summer, washed it, dried it, and threw it in a Freezer bag, and plunked it in the freezer. The second secret is to use Lacinato kale (AKA dinosaur kale, black kale). It’s more like spinach, not as tough as the curly kale. I also had a kale last year that was a large flat leaf (about the size of a collard green), that even my kale hating husband enjoyed. Good luck finding some yummy-ness in kale…(of course, you could always use a green you enjoy!)

    • Izzy says:

      Hmmmmm!!! Interesting. I don’t think I’ve seen another variety of Kale, but I haven’t particularly kept my eye out too. I will have to, from now on. Unfortunately greens and I don’t have a very good relationship, but I’d like to change that.

      Think the freezer method would work for the curly kale?

      • Connie Fletcher says:

        Curly kale sweetens after freezing. Having said that, it’s often the texture that folks don’t like. It’s a little tougher than some other veggies, but if it’s chopped up finely and put in soups or stews? It sooooo good for you. I would urge you to find a way you can tolerate it, and you never know what will come of that!!! Maybe kale could become your new BFF…tee hee. Well, maybe I shouldn’t go that far, but your body would love you for nourishing it so well.

Share your thoughts

