Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Irish / Steel Cut Oatmeal

on April 17, 2011

I’ve always heard such great things about steel cut oatmeal.  Because it takes so long to cook, and I only had a roaster sized Crockpot, I never really tried.  Last week we purchased a 4 quart Crockpot, so I decided to give Steel Cut Oatmeal a try.  Rolled oats have been steamed and rolled, while steel cut oats, are simply the whole oat – cut.  With what I am assuming to be steel? 🙂

Rolled and Steel Cut Oats

You simply mix all the ingredients set the small Crockpot to low, then let cook for 6-8 hours.

In theory.

Of course, what happened for me was a little bit different.  It involved me starting it at 2 AM (Hey, it was a long night – don’t judge), being woken up by the dogs at 5 am (thankfully) to find the oatmeal had started to burn.  4 quart Crockpot (or cheap Crockpot, you decide) fail. So I dished the oatmeal out into a large glass bowl to cool, then put it in the fridge at 8 when I was awoken once again by the dogs.

When I finally decided to actually get out of bed, the oatmeal had congealed into one big mass of oatmeal, which can only be described as big, massive, congealed and oatmeal like.  Anyway, I cut a chunk out of it (yes, it was cut-able), and plopped it into my bowl to be reheated.

So far this wasn’t looking so good, and to be perfectly honest the pure sight of the large congealed mass was rather repulsive, but I digress.  I cooked it for about 1 minute 30 seconds, mixing (or chopping) every 30 seconds and mixing in soy milk a little at a time and mixed in a smidge of brown sugar.  Soon I had something that resembled something that may or may not have been edible at one point in time, which will henceforth be referred to as glop.

Glop

It smelled like oatmeal.  It looked like oatmeal, sort of.

So I handed the sugared bowl of glop to husband to taste.  He managed to get MAYBE a teaspoon of said glop down before relenting and handing it back to me, with the announcement that he was now no longer interested in consuming ANYTHING, much less a bowl of glop.

I had a sinking feeling about this one, so I hadn’t bothered to heat up a bowl for myself.  The texture seriously reminded me of tapioca pudding, but with denser balls of tapioca.   Hubby says the texture was like “nasty.”  Anyway, next I tried to mix in some Genisoy plain protein, and it mixed in PERFECTLY.

1 cup Steel Cut oatmeal
4 cups water
1/4 tsp

Cook for 6-8 hours on low in a 2-4 quart Crockpot that doesn’t suck.

Serve with soy milk, and preferably some nuts and fruit.  And don’t forget the protein powder!

While hubby didn’t care for this, there’s some major win action here for me – especially how well the protein powder mixed in.  I’ll definitely be making this again, though during the day since my Crockpot obviously doesn’t like me.  If you try this, don’t do it on a day when you don’t have anything else for people to eat if they don’t like it.

My rating: Awesome
Hubby Rating: Nasty
Dog rating: Almost took my hand off grabbing the spoon

Reheatability: Fantastic. Will definitely be packing for breakfasts this week.

Share your thoughts

