Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Olive Hummus

on April 12, 2011

After creating this recipe, I’m completely amazed that I ever wasted so much money on store bought hummus.  This recipe turned out especially good because I had my wonderful husband standing by me, giving his opinion, and spilling all sorts of awesome love out into the batch of chickpeas.  Therefore, your mileage may vary.  Mine will still be better. 😉

 

This was my lunch.  Be jealous!

Ok.  Get out your food processor!  And add to it:

1 can chickpeas/garbanzo beans (liquid reserved in a separate bowl)
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 tbsp tahini paste
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp paprika (I used regular, but I’m kinda thinking smoked would work)
Lots and lots of olives!  Well, as much/many as you want.  A little olive juice too, if you really like olives.  I used about 1/4 cup of green olives.
Juice of 1 medium lemon
1 tsp olive oil

Now, start blending.  After processing for a little bit, check the consistency – it will look more like peanut butter than hummus, so add some of the reserved liquid until you achieve a consistency you like.

Put it in a container and ideally let it sit in the refrigerator overnight, but a minimum of 2-3 hours.

Enjoy with vegetables, pita chips, pretzel chips, or as I like it… smeared in my pita pockets or on my wraps for a yummy and healthy protein source / condiment all in one.

Share your thoughts

