Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Is it a pancake or is it a cobbler?

on August 1, 2011

Whatever it is, it’s delicious and it’s filled with blueberries.  What’s not to love?    We whipped it up in less than 5 minutes.  It reminded us of a blueberry pancake.  It was slightly sweet, but not overpowering.  He topped his with a little bit of maple syrup to make it sweeter, but I liked it just the way it was.

vegan blueberry cobler

This is supposed to be made in a cake or pie pan, something where the batter has a chance to spread out, but I didn’t have either, so I used a bread pan and it came out just fine.  It doesn’t look so pretty but it was delicious.  It really reminded me a blueberry pancake, but with lots more blueberries!

My picture does this NO justice.  Next time we have company for brunch, I will definitely be making this.  I have yet to have any real luck with making vegan pancakes, so this is a perfect solution… especially since I always top them with blueberries anyway.

We decided that this recipe would be equally appropriate for a breakfast or dessert.  And it really is in just the right place of sweetness that it could be appealing to anyone.   When we made it, we used “lite” syrup, but clearly it would taste even better with the real thing.

My recipe is a adaptation of the original which you can find at the Happy Herbivore.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl, mix together
     2/3 cup whole wheat flour
     1 1/2 tsp baking powder
     1/8 tsp salt
     2 tsp ground cinnamon

In a separate bowl (Or I just use my Pyrex measuring cup) combine
     2 tsp melted vegan margarine(or some apple sauce – this is optional but it will be dry otherwise)
     1/3 cup maple syrup (I used lite)
     2/3 cup non-dairy milk
     1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract 

Mix the wet team and dry team together and pour into a greased pie plate, 8×8 cake pan, etc…

Top with
     2 cups frozen blueberries

Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until top is golden brown.  Allow to cool for a few minutes, then serve as is, or topped with a sprinkle of powdered sugar or maple syrup.

I was really happy with how this turned out and really look forward to making it again.  My omnivore husband happily gobbled down half the recipe because it was so scrumptious, and I clearly never feed the poor guy!

5 responses to “Is it a pancake or is it a cobbler?

  1. E says:

    THIS LOOKS AWESOME.

  2. Kate says:

    Mmmmm, makes me think of my blueberry maple cupcakes, but simpler… I totally have to make this!

Share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

