Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

Pizza! The Vegan Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles would be proud.

on July 17, 2011

Before I go any further – I would like to mention that yesterday’s experiment was a sad, sad failure. Ahem… moving on.

If you were born in the late 70’s or early 80’s, odds are you have a borderline romantic relationship with pizza and I blame these guys:

Was there ever a time when you thought of, heard of, or saw the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and didn’t think, “Mmm, pizza!”  I swear the entire movie was paid advertisement for Pizza Slut and Dominhoes.

Anywho, I made my 80’s roots proud tonight while trying a few new things.  But first, behold the finished beauty:

Vegan Pizza with Tofurkey Italian Sausage

If you’re wondering, it’s topped with Tofurkey Italian Sausage, green olives, and sauteed bell peppers and onions.

Since I don’t like Daiya, I decided to try another cheese – Vegan Gourmet  Many are familiar with it, but I’d never had it.  Let me just say this – this stuff kicks Daiya out of the water!  I love it.  It’s easier to shred than regular Mozzarella, tastes about the same – maybe a little milder.  It does melt, it doesn’t bubbly cheese melt, but it melts and it holds my toppings in place (the only real reason I need any cheese at all).

Vegan Gourmet  Mozzarella

Next, thanks to a great suggestion from Sara at FoodFitnessLifeLove.Wordpress.com we sprinkled Red Star Nutritional Yeast on our pizza as it was mentioned that it may make a good Parm substitute.  And, indeed it did.  In fact, my husband is now starting to look forward to cheeze (My last attempt included bulk nutritional yeast which ended up producing something that even the dogs would not touch), and he sprinkled it on all of his slices AND event bent his paper plate (yes, we ate off paper plates, don’t judge!) to dump the rest onto his last slice of the pizza – which incidentally did not last long.

Oh, and here’s the yeast if you’re interested in trying it.  This particular brand was touted by some users on a vegan forum as “the only nooch.”

Nooch!

If you’re vegan, or vegetarian and don’t have this stuff, you should run out and get it.  Look up the nutritional info on it!


2 responses to “Pizza! The Vegan Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles would be proud.

  1. vegandeb says:

    The pizza looks yummy! I buy nutritional yeast from the bulk section at the store. I should compare the nutritional info next time and see if the one you recommend is healthier. I’m guessing it is.

    • Izzy says:

      I’m curious if there is a significant difference. One thing for sure is I’m now in love with the stuff. I’m amazed that it’s such a nutritional powerhouse, and it really was tasty! I think my previous failure wasn’t the nooch, so I’m going to try again soon.

Share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

