Crash Test Vegetarian

Vegan to Omnivore outreach program

"Creamy" Potato and Leek Soup

on May 31, 2011

No, there’s no picture.  Next time I make it, perhaps.

I’ve never had Potato and Leek soup.  In fact, I’ve never had leeks.  But, it’s a vegetable, and I wanted to try it.

Unfortunately, most Potato and Leek recipes include milk, butter, cream… aka things I don’t eat.   One day, I happened upon a recipe where the author claimed she chose not to add milk and enjoyed it just fine without.  So, it got me thinking, and one day on a whim, I picked up some leeks.

I looked up vegan potato and leek soup and found an interesting recipe that used white beans.  That sounded perfect since I always want to add some proteins.  So I chose it.  (Queue pokemon, “I choose YOU, Potato Leek and Bean soup!”)  Original recipe can be found here.  If you try it, be sure to review it for them too.

Ahem.

Seriously though, it was good.  Hubby liked it.  I liked it.   Carnivore coworkers liked it.  And next time I think I’ll try celery instead.  But the thing I liked best about it is it took very little time to prep, and cooked in the amount of time it took me to take a shower and start getting ready for work.

3-4 Large Leeks, sliced (white and green part only)
4 Cloves Garlic, minced
4-6 potatoes, skinned and diced
4 cups broth of your choosing, clearly I chose vegetable
1 Can Beans (rinsed and drained), White – I used great Northern
1-2 Tsp olive oil
Salt and Pepper to taste
Seasonings (you choose which you want to use): Parsley, Dill, Rosemary… I used Mrs Dash.

Lightly coat bottom of soup pot in oil, cook onions and leeks until onions are translucent.

Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add broth and potatoes.

Meanwhile, puree beans using a food processor, blender, or whatever.  I used the blender, and a little of the broth then add it to the soup then cook for about inutes, or until potatoes and leeks are both very tender.

When the soup is done, you have two options: 1. Enjoy as is. 2. Take out about 1/4 of the soup and either blend (after it’s cooled a bit) in the blender, or take your immersion blender to it.  Add it back to the soup and enjoy.

The original author pureed the entire soup, but I like things to chew on.

 

 

 

4 responses to “"Creamy" Potato and Leek Soup

  1. Katie Rose says:

    Neato! I really like the addition of white beans. Soup is such a great way to eat a bunch of healthy things all at once. I made a potato and leek soup a few months ago that used a broth base as well and I thought it was just okay- I don’t have a blender, might have liked it more if it was a different consistency. Anywho, nice work, Izzy!

  2. E says:

    Yum! This sounds delicious… I will definitely be trying this!
    Cheers,
    E

  3. pondy says:

    I made mine today with butter beans. It was divine. I did not rinse the beans cause that water makes the soup nice n thick. Q: how often can I eat the soup per day?

    • Izzy says:

      I don’t know about you but I could eat that multiple times a day! :)

      Glad you liked it, I was really pleasantly surprised how creamy the soup ended up being. And rather than being just extra fat and calories, it added protein and fiber.

Share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

